The University of Stavanger, in partnership with RUNIN, are organising the
5th Geography of Innovation Conference
which will take place at Clarion Hotel Energy in Stavanger from 29th to 31st January 2020.

The Geography of Innovation Conference provides a forum for discussion to scholars interested in scientific,
policy and strategic issues concerning the spatial dimension of innovation activities.
In line with the four previous editions of the conference, held in Saint Etienne (France) in 2012,
Utrecht (Netherlands) in 2014, Toulouse (France) in 2016 and Barcelona (2018),
the main objective of this event is to bring together some of the world’s leading scholars from a variety
of disciplines ranging from economic geography and regional science, economics and management science,
sociology and network theory, and political and planning sciences.


Head of the Committee:
Rune Dahl Fitjar (University of Stavanger, Norway)

Other Committee Members :

  • Andrés Rodriguez-Pose (London School of Economics, UK and University of Stavanger, Norway)
  • Bjørn Terje Asheim (University of Stavanger, Norway and Lund University, Sweden)
  • Corinne Autant-Bernard (University of Saint Etienne, France)
  • Egil C. Svela (University of Stavanger, Norway)
  • Jerome Vicente (University of Toulouse, France)
  • Koen Frenken (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)
  • Kristoffer W. Moldekleiv (University of Stavanger, Norway)
  • Marte Cecilie Wilhelmsen Solheim (University of Stavanger, Norway)
  • Ragnar Tveterås (University of Stavanger, Norway)
  • Ron Boschma (Utrecht University, The Netherlands and University of Stavanger, Norway)
  • Rosina Moreno (University of Barcelona, Spain)
  • Tom Broekel (University of Stavanger, Norway)


Committee Members

  • Andrea Morrison (Utrecht University, Netherlands)
  • Artur da Rosa Pires (University of Aveiro, Portugal)
  • Atilla Varga (Pecs University, Hungary)
  • Canfei He (Peking University, China)
  • Carlos Rodrigues (University of Aveiro, Portugal)
  • Christian Catalini (MIT Sloan, US)
  • Christian Østergaard (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • David Charles (Northumbria University, UK)
  • David L. Rigby (UCLA, US)
  • Davide Consoli (INGENIO-CSIC, Spain)
  • Dieter Kogler (University College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Elisa Giuliani (University of Pisa, Italy)
  • Emili Grifell-Tatjé (Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain)
  • Francesco Quatraro (University of Turin Italy)
  • Gaetan de Rassenfosse (EPFL, Switzerland)
  • Heike Mayer (University of Bern, Switzerland)
  • Ina Drejer (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • Jose-Luis Hervas-Oliver (Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain)
  • Josep Maria Arauzo Carod (Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain)
  • Julie Le Gallo (Agrosup Dijon, France)
  • Keld Laursen (Copenhagen Business School, Denmark)
  • Lars Coenen (University of Melbourne, Australia)
  • Lorenzo Cassi (Paris-Sorbonne, France)
  • Magnus Klofsten (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Mark Lorenzen (Copenhagen Business School , Denmark)
  • Maryann Feldman (University of North Carolina, USA)
  • Michael Fritsch (University of Jena, Germany)
  • Michael Storper (London School of Economics, UK)
  • Michaela Trippl (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Paul Benneworth (Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway)
  • Rafael Boix (University of Valencia, Spain)
  • Riccardo Crescenzi (London School of Economics, UK)
  • Roberta Capello (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Roberta Rabellotti (University of Pavia, Italy)
  • Sami Mahroum (INSEAD Abu Dhabi UAE)
  • Silvia Rita Sedita (University of Padova, Italy)
  • Simona Iammarino (London School of Economics, UK)
  • Stefano Breschi (Bocconi University, Italy)
  • Stefano Usai (University of Cagliari, Italy)



The RUNIN network program is funded by the European Commission through the Marie Skłodowska-Curie and the Horizon 2020 framework. The network program runs for a 4-year period from September 2016, and will have its end conference as part of GeoInno2020.

The aim of the RUNIN network program is to train researchers on how universities contribute to innovation and economic growth in their regions through research seeking to examine how universities fulfill their third mission in relation to regional industry and explore the range of university engagement with regional firms and institutions.

The network program focuses on how universities can contribute to innovation and regional development through four main themes:

  • People and Networks
  • Policies and Interventions
  • Places and Territories
  • Practices and Governance.

Centre for Innovation Research

The Stavanger Centre for Innovation Research is a joint centre between The University of Stavanger (UiS) and the Norwegian Research Centre (NORCE). The University of Stavanger Business School is host for the centre.

The Centre has since its inception in 2008 acquired a robust and visible international profile within innovation studies, economic geography, economics and entrepreneurship. The Centre involves over 30 researchers from UiS Business School, Department of Media and Social Sciences (IMS), Department of Industrial Economics, Risk Management and Planning (IØRP) and NORCE.

University of Stavanger Business School

The UiS Business School was established in 2011 and from August 1st 2017 the Business School is one of six faculties at the University of Stavanger.

The faculty is organized into three departments:

  • Department of Innovation, Management and Marketing
  • Department of Accounting and Law
  • Department of Economics and Finance

The UiS Business School offers bachelor programmes in Business Administration and in Law. The graduate programmes covers Master of Science in Business Administration and in Accounting & Auditing. The UIS Business School also offers PhD programs and an Executive MBA program.

The Centre for Innovation Research, The Center for Entrepreneurship and The Collaborative Competence Cluster for Industrial Asset Management (CIAM) is also associated with the faculty.


Call for special sessions: May 19th, 2019 (CLOSED)

Papers and extended abstracts submission deadline: September 20th, 2019

Acceptance confirmation: October 10th, 2019

Registration opens: October 10th, 2019

Registration closes: November 24th, 2019

Conference opens: January 29th, 2020


  • University of Stavanger - Norway


  • Lyse Energi
  • Research Council of Norway
  • stavanger kommune
GEOINNO2020 is over. Thank you all 411 who came to Stavanger for these three days!